Three Sketches - for clarinet solo (2014)


  • Breezy
  • Allegretto
  • Allegro assai

Duration: 5'30" 

Program Notes: 

“Three Sketches” for B-flat Clarinet solo, composed in May, 2014, is intended to be performed as one extended three-movement piece, though the movements can easily be separated and effectively performed as individual pieces. 

The Sketches are marked “Breezy”, “Allegretto”, and “Allegro assai” respectively. While the first Sketch possesses a mysterious quality, the second contrasts with an easy flowing character. The third Sketch begins with its own whimsical opening theme - then fragments of motifs from the first and second Sketches reappear and intertwine with the melody, tying the three movements together and bringing the composition full circle.